This section describes how you can manage access to your account, who counts towards your subscription plan size, and the different permission levels people can have.
Additionally, you can find out what you should do when someone leaves your company or no longer needs access to the account.
Administrators in your account have the ability to control access and cost through the number of people you are managing in your account.
Administrate and Add People
You can add people in two places: in Account Settings or the Organization Page.
The minimal information required to add a person is first name, last name, and permission level. When you add a person, you can invite them to the account immediately, or invite them at a later time.
People who have been sent an invitation email and/or have accepted the invitation count towards the number of Licensed Users in your subscription.
You can also choose to add team members who do not have access to your account. These people are considered Managed Resources and count toward that aspect of your subscription.
Add multiple people at once
You can add multiple people by preparing a list in a spreadsheet program and importing that information into 10,000ft. In the spreadsheet, fill out first and last names, email addresses, permission levels, disciplines, and roles for each person you want to add.
The permission levels, disciplines, and roles in this list need to match exactly how they’re defined in 10,000ft Account Settings.
You can learn more about how you can import multiple people here.
Manage freelancers or contractors
If you want freelancers to track their time on projects, you should invite them and give them a login, just like other people in your account. You pay for Licensed Users with logins, so once the job is done you can archive that freelancer and use their license for someone else. Some customers have a few rotating seats designated for freelancer use.
If you do not need to account for the time freelancers spend and just want to track their cost to the project, you can add them as an expense against the project budget.
If you do not want these freelancers to have company-wide information, you should set their permission level to Contractor.
Teams who use10,000ft for resource management only will want to add Managed Resources.
Managed Resources cannot log in, view, or track time in 10,000ft, but adding them creates a clear picture of the capacity of your group, allowing you to forecast risk and hiring needs.
You can also create resources to represent meeting rooms or equipment. This way, you know when certain meeting rooms are booked and when certain pieces of equipment will be unavailable.
Archive, Modify, or Delete People
When someone leaves your company, or they no longer need access to 10,000ft, you should archive that person.
Both Licensed Users and Managed Resources can be Archived if desired.
Archiving People does the following:
Removes the person from accessing 10,000ft
Removes the person from the list of team members on your Organization Page
Removes the person from the Schedule
Assignments for the archived person remain on the Project Page so a project manager can reassign the hours to another person or placeholder if there is outstanding work scheduled in the future.
All historic data for the archived person is saved in the tool.
You can see a list of archived people in the People section of Account Settings. Anytime you archive someone, that individual no longer counts towards the number of Licensed Users or Managed Resources in your account.
If you regularly have contractors or temporary people who work for your organization, we recommend that you invite temporary people into your account at a Contractor permission level and set the start and end date for the person under the Availability section in their personal profile. When the temporary employee is finished with the project, you can archive them in Account Settings to revoke their access to 10,000ft. You may have a rotating group of contractor seats available in 10,000ft that you use to give temporary access to contractors and vendors on a per-project basis.
Archived users who don't have a First and Last day of work defined will continue to appear in analytics and reports. If you want to exclude an archived user from reports, Unarchive them, add a First and Last day of work in the past, then Archive them again.
Change a Licensed User to a Managed Resource
If someone is a Licensed User in your account and you would like to move their profile to a Managed Resource level, you can click on their name within the Licensed Users list and select "Change to Managed Resource".
There are scenarios where you may want to delete a user from your account. Once a person’s profile is deleted, all data associated with that person will be deleted from 10,000ft and cannot be restored.
To delete a person:
To delete users, first you must Archive the person in their profile or from the Account Settings.
Then you need to navigate to the People section in Account Settings and find their name.
Select their name to go to their profile (the green text indicates a link)
Once you are in their profile settings, you will see the button to delete their profile at the bottom of the page.
NOTE: Do this with caution, it cannot be undone.
Manage My 10,000ft Subscription
Who counts toward my subscription?
There are three levels of people from your team in 10,000ft: Licensed Users, Time Tracking Users, and Managed Resources.
Licensed Users are team members who have a login and need to plan, track or view activities. Time Tracking Users are team members who have access to 10,000ft just to track their time on projects. Managed Resources are team members who cannot log into the app but are staffed on projects so that their capacity can be understood and managed by others on the team.
What are the differences between Licensed Users, Time Tracking Users, and Managed Resources?
Licensed Users: These are people who have access to 10,000ft.
This license permits access to 10,000ft to plan projects / people, track time or view. These people have a login to the app so they can use the software to manage their portfolio. There are six levels of permissions for Licensed Users which can be reviewed here.
Time Tracking Users: These are people who have access to 10,000ft just to track their time on projects.
While this user has a login, they require a “Contractor” level permission so that they only have access to their personal dashboard to enter hours on projects. This user does not have access to the schedule, organization page, project portfolio or analytics.
Time tracking user licenses can be purchased individually on top of your Licensed User count.
Managed Resources: Managed Resources have no access to 10,000ft. They cannot login and do not have access to the data in the application.
This is a license for the people or resources that you need to schedule in 10,000ft. These are the “resources” managed in resource management. The Managed Resource licenses allow the Licensed Users to visualize the capacity of the team.
You get one free Managed Resource for each Licensed User purchased. Additional Managed Resources can be purchased individually in addition to Licensed Users.
How do I upgrade or downgrade my account?
To update your subscription:
Go to Settings > Billing
Click the Update Plan button
Select the plan that best suits your needs
Click the Submit button
If you do not see the option to update your plan on the Billing page, please contact your Account Representative or use the Help menu within the app to reach our support team.
You can expect to receive two kinds of communication from 10,000ft: Essential Communication and Non-Essential Communication.
Non-Essential Communication includes information about your trial, like how to set up your account, and notifications about when it will expire. This communication is limited to account owners only. After the trial period, all active people will receive periodic product updates and news about 10,000ft, unless changed in email preferences.
We do not send emails to people in your account who are Managed Resources.
Manage your preferences for Non-Essential Communication on the My Preferences page of your Account Settings.
Essential Communication is information regarding your account, and includes:
New people invitations
Payment receipts (Account Owner only)
Failed payment notifications (Account Owner only)
Account closure confirmation (Account Owner only)
This information is necessary for managing your 10,000ft account, so you cannot unsubscribe from Essential Communication emails. You can request to add additional email addresses to ‘Account Owner only’ emails by contacting us here.