This section describes how you can manage access to your account, who counts towards your subscription plan size, and the different permission levels people can have.
Additionally, you can find out what you should do when someone leaves your company or no longer needs access to the account.
Administrators in your account have the ability to control access and cost through the number of people you are managing in your account.
Administer and Add People
You can add people in two places: Account Settings or the Organization Page.
To add a person, first name, last name, and permission level are required. Other attributes are optional. When you add a person, you can invite them to the account immediately, or invite them later.
People who have been sent and/or have accepted an invitation count towards the number of Licensed Users in your subscription.
You can also add team members who do not have access to your account. These people are considered Managed Resources and count toward that aspect of your subscription.
Add multiple people at once
You can add multiple people by preparing a list in a spreadsheet program and importing that information into Resource Management. In the spreadsheet, fill out first and last names, email addresses, permission levels, disciplines, and roles for each person you want to add.
The permission levels, disciplines, and roles in this list need to match exactly how they’re defined in Resource Management Account Settings.
Learn how to import multiple people here.
Manage freelancers or contractors
If you want freelancers to track their time on projects, invite them and give them a login, just like other people in your account. You pay for Licensed Users with logins, so once the job is done you can archive that freelancer and use their license for someone else. Some customers have a few rotating seats designated for freelancer use.
If you do not need to account for the time freelancers spend and just want to track their cost to the project, add them as an expense against the project budget.
To restrict freelancer access to company-wide information, set their permission level to Contractor.
Teams who use Resource Management only will want to add Managed Resources.
Managed Resources cannot log in, view, or track time in Resource Management, but adding them creates a clear picture of the capacity of your group, allowing you to forecast risk and hiring needs.
You can also create resources to represent meeting rooms or equipment. This way, you know when certain meeting rooms are booked and when certain pieces of equipment will be unavailable.
Archive, Modify, or Delete People
When someone leaves your company, or they no longer need access to Resource Management, you should archive that person.
About Archiving People
You can archive Licensed Users and Managed Resources.
Archiving a person:
- Prevents them from accessing Resource Management
- Removes them from team members on your Organization Page
- Removes them from the Schedule
Assignments for the archived person remain on the Project Page so a project manager can reassign any remaining work to another person or placeholder.
Resource Management saves all data for the archived person.
You can see a list of archived people in the People section of Account Settings. When you archive someone, they no longer count towards the number of Licensed Users or Managed Resources in your account.
If you regularly have contractors or temporary people who work for your organization, invite them at Contractor permission level. Set their start and end date in the Availability section of their personal profile. When they finish the project, archive them in Account Settings to revoke their access to Resource Management.
You can have a rotating group of contractor seats in Resource Management, providing temporary access to contractors and vendors on a per-project basis.
Archived users who don't have a First and Last day of work defined will continue to appear in analytics and reports. If you want to exclude an archived user from reports, Unarchive them, add a First and Last day of work in the past, then Archive them again.
To archive a person:
- Go to their page. In the top right corner, click Edit Profile.
- At the bottom of the page, click Archive.
Change a Licensed User to a Managed Resource
If someone is a Licensed User in your account and you would like to move their profile to a Managed Resource level, click on their name in the Licensed Users list and select Change to Managed Resource.
To change a Licensed User to a Manage Resource:
- On the top navigation bar click Settings > Account Settings.
- On the left, click People.
- Click the name you want to change the status for, and then click Change to Managed.
There are scenarios where you may want to delete a user from your account. Once a person’s profile is deleted, all data associated with that person will be deleted from Resource Management and cannot be restored.
To delete a person:
- Archive the person in their profile or from the Account Settings.
- Go to the People section in Account Settings and find their name.
- Select their name to go to their profile (the green text indicates a link)
- Once you are in their profile settings, you will see the button to delete their profile at the bottom of the page.
Do this with caution, delete cannot be undone.
About Resource Management users and subscriptions
Resource Management has three types of users: Licensed Users, Time Tracking Users, and Managed Resources.
Licensed Users are team members who have a login. They plan, track, or view activities.There are six permission levels for Licensed Users; learn more here.
Managed Resources: Managed Resources have no access to Resource Management. They cannot log in and do not have access to the data in the application.
This license is for people or resources that you need to schedule in Resource Management. Managed Resource licenses allow Licensed Users to visualize the capacity of the team.
You receive one free Managed Resource for each Licensed User purchased. You can purchase additional Managed Resource licenses individually.
Change your subscription
To update your subscription:
- Go to Settings > Billing.
- Click Update Plan.
- Select the plan that best suits your needs.
- Click Submit.
If you do not see the option to update your plan on the Billing page, please contact your Account Representative or use the Help menu to reach our support team.
You can expect two kinds of communication from Resource Management: Essential Communication and Non-Essential Communication.
Essential Communication is information regarding your account and includes:
- Password resets
- New people invitations
- Payment receipts (Account Owner only)
- Failed payment notifications (Account Owner only)
- Account closure confirmation (Account Owner only)
This information is necessary for managing your Resource Management account. You cannot unsubscribe from Essential Communication emails. You can add Account Owner only emails by contacting us here.
Non-Essential Communication includes information about your trial, how to set up your account, and notifications about when it will expire. This communication is limited to account owners only. After the trial period, all active people will receive periodic product updates and news about Resource Management, unless you change your email preferences.
We do not send emails to Managed Resources.
Manage your preferences for Non-Essential Communication on the My Preferences page of your Account Settings.