Resource Management Manage My People

APPLIES TO

  • Resource Management

This section describes how you can manage access to your account, who counts towards your subscription plan size, and the different permission levels people can have.

Additionally, you can find out what you should do when someone leaves your company or no longer needs access to the account.

Administrators in your account have the ability to control access and cost through the number of people you are managing in your account.

Administer and add people

APPLIES TO

  • Resource Management

RELATED CAPABILITIES

Who can use this capability?

Admins can add, remove, and update people on the account.

You can add people in two places: Account Settings or the Organization Page.

First name, last name, and permission level are required to add a person. Other attributes are optional. You can invite them to the account immediately or invite them later when you add a person.

People who have received or accepted an invitation count towards the number of Licensed Users in your subscription.

You can also add team members who do not have access to your account. These people are Managed Resources and count toward that aspect of your subscription.

Search view of the People page

Add multiple people at once

You can add multiple people by preparing a list in a spreadsheet program and importing that information into Resource Management. In the spreadsheet, fill out first and last names, email addresses, permission levels, disciplines, and roles for each person you want to add.

The permission levels, disciplines, and roles in this list must match your account settings for people. 

Learn how to import multiple people here.

Manage freelancers or contractors

If you want freelancers to track their time on projects, invite them and give them a login, like other people in your account. You pay for Licensed Users with logins, so once the job is complete, you can archive that freelancer and use their license for someone else. Some customers have a few rotating seats designated for freelancer use.

If you do not need to account for the time freelancers spend and want to track their cost to the project, add them as an expense against the project budget.

To restrict freelancer access to company-wide information, set their permission level to Contractor.

Managed Resources

APPLIES TO

  • Resource Management

Teams who use Resource Management only will want to add Managed Resources.

Managed Resources cannot log in, view, or track time in Resource Management, but adding them creates a clear picture of the capacity of your group, allowing you to forecast risk and hiring needs.

You can also create resources to represent meeting rooms or equipment. This way, you know when certain meeting rooms are booked and when certain pieces of equipment will be unavailable.

Archive, Modify, or Delete People

APPLIES TO

  • Resource Management

When someone leaves your company, or they no longer need access to Resource Management, you should archive that person.

About Archiving People

You can archive Licensed Users and Managed Resources.

Archiving a person:

  • Prevents them from accessing Resource Management
  • Removes them from team members on your Organization Page
  • Removes them from the Schedule

Assignments for the archived person remain on the Project Page so a project manager can reassign any remaining work to another person or placeholder.

Resource Management saves all data for the archived person.

You can see a list of archived people in the People section of Account Settings. When you archive someone, they no longer count towards the number of Licensed Users or Managed Resources in your account.

If you regularly have contractors or temporary people who work for your organization, invite them at Contractor permission level. Set their start and end date in the Availability section of their personal profile. When they finish the project,  archive them in Account Settings to revoke their access to Resource Management.

You can have a rotating group of contractor seats in Resource Management, providing temporary access to contractors and vendors on a per-project basis.

Archived users who don't have a First and Last day of work defined will continue to appear in analytics and reports. If you want to exclude an archived user from reports,  Unarchive them, add a First and Last day of work in the past, then Archive them again. 

To archive a person:

  1. Go to their page. In the top right corner, click Edit Profile.
  2. At the bottom of the page, click Archive

Change a Licensed User to a Managed Resource

If someone is a Licensed User in your account and you would like to move their profile to a Managed Resource level, click on their name in the Licensed Users list and select Change to Managed Resource.

To change a Licensed User to a Manage Resource:

  1. On the top navigation bar click Settings > Account Settings.
  2. On the left, click People
  3. Click the name you want to change the status for, and then click Change to Managed.

Deleting People

There are scenarios where you may want to delete a user from your account. Once a person’s profile is deleted, all data associated with that person will be deleted from Resource Management and cannot be restored.

To delete a person:

  1.  Archive the person in their profile or from the Account Settings.
  2. Go to the People section in Account Settings and find their name.
  3. Select their name to go to their profile (the green text indicates a link)
  4. Once you are in their profile settings, you will see the button to delete their profile at the bottom of the page.

Do this with caution, delete cannot be undone.

Resource Management: User licenses and subscriptions

APPLIES TO

  • Resource Management

Resource Management has two types of users: Licensed Users and Managed Resources.

Licensed Users

Licensed Users can log in and access the product. 

Depending on their permission level, licensed users can have varying levels of access to track and/or approve time, plan projects, manage staffing and schedule, add or modify user profiles, and report on resource management data. Only Licensed Users have the ability to track time on projects.

Managed Resources

Managed Resources cannot log in and access the product.

Managed Resources are simply the people that you assign to projects and manage their overall resourcing schedule. Managed Resources don’t have the ability to track time or access any resource management data. Even without login access, it is helpful to have people in your organization added as Managed Resources because it centralizes your talent pool so you can better answer questions like what projects are people working on? Who is over-capacity? Who is available? What skills do we need to hire? Who is on PTO? And many more!

You can also create resources to represent meeting rooms or equipment.

Change your subscription

Licensed Users and Managed Resources are sold in separate amounts. Your current subscription levels are shown on the People tab of Account Settings. If you need to adjust how many of each license type you are paying for you, you can contact us to discuss changes to your current subscription.

Here’s how to make a change to your current subscription:

  1. Go to Settings > Account Settings > Billing
  2. Click Modify Plan.
  3. Complete the form.