Deactivate or reactivate users

Learn how to deactivate or reactivate users in the Smartsheet Admin Center.

Who can use this?

Plans:

  • Pro
  • Business
  • Enterprise

Permissions:

  • System Admin

Find out if this capability is included in Smartsheet Regions or Smartsheet Gov.

The Plan status and User status columns on the Seat types and true-up page show each user's current account state. For definitions of each status value, see User deactivation and reactivation overview.

Deactivate users

If you don't reactivate a deactivated user within 30 consecutive days, reactivation is no longer available. You must remove the user from your plan and re-invite them to restore access.

  1. Sign in to Admin Center.
  2. Select the Menu icon to open the left panel and navigate to Users and Groups > Seat Types and True-up.

    The Seat types and true-up page displays. 

  3. In the user's row, select ⋮ to open the action menu.
  4. Select Deactivate. A dialog box displays. Deactivating the user:

    • Prevents them from signing in
    • Temporarily retains their existing sharing permissions
    • Allows reactivation if completed within 30 days
    Brandfolder Image
    Kebab icon at the start of a user's row, opening an action menu with Deactivate highlighted between Edit user and Remove user
  5. If the user owns plan items, a transfer field appears. Select Transfer plan-owned assets to another user, then start typing to search for a plan member, and select the recipient.

    Brandfolder Image
    Transfer plan-owned assets to another user checkbox, selected, in the Deactivate dialog, with the Select user field below it and the Cancel and Deactivate buttons at the bottom
  6. Select Deactivate to confirm.

After deactivation, the user's Plan status updates to Deactivated with a day countdown. Their User status updates to None.

You're responsible for ensuring your users' access and use of the Smartsheet services are within authorized limits. Unauthorized access to and use of the services is invoiceable pursuant to the Limits Policy. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by Smartsheet, the removal or deactivation of users or the cessation of use of the services will not affect Smartsheet’s right to invoice for unauthorized access and use.


Find deactivated users

Users deactivated within the last 30 days appear in the user list by default with a day countdown in the Plan status column. Users deactivated more than 30 days ago appear on the Non plan users tab.

To find users deactivated more than 30 days ago:

  1. On the Seat types and true-up page, select the Non plan users tab.
  2. Find the users with a Status of Deactivated.

You can no longer reactivate users deactivated more than 30 days ago. On the Non plan users tab, you can remove them.


Reactivate users

If the user was deactivated within the last 30 days, you can reactivate them using the steps below. If more than 30 days have passed, see Remove users to remove the user first, then re-invite them.

  1. Sign in to Admin Center.
  2. Select the Menu icon to open the left panel and navigate to Users and Groups > Seat Types and True-up.

    The Seat types and true-up page displays. 

  3. Find the deactivated user. If they don't appear in the default view, filter by Plan status > Deactivated.
  4. In the user's row, select ⋮ to open the action menu.
  5. Select Reactivate. A dialog box confirms that the user can sign in and regain their previously held sharing permissions.
  6. Select Reactivate to confirm.

After reactivation, the user receives a new invite email. It may take up to one minute for access to become active.


Reactivate users managed through Directory Integration

The 30-day reactivation policy applies exclusively to users managed in Admin Center. If you manage users through Directory Integration (DI) and are attempting to reactivate a user after the 30-day window, do the following:

  1. Temporarily deactivate DI in Smartsheet by toggling off the Directory Integration option in the Security & Controls page.
  2. Remove the user in Admin Center.
  3. Reactivate DI in Smartsheet.
  4. Add the user to the relevant groups.

This process allows you to re-provision them through DI.


Notes

  • You can't revoke access to Smartsheet or deactivate users through external integration.
  • Deactivating a user immediately revokes all API access tokens they've generated. The deactivated user can no longer use them.
  • If the 30-day reactivation window has passed, the API returns an error when you attempt to reactivate the user. Remove the user first, then re-add them to restore access.

Check out Overview: User deactivation and reactivation for more information around the effects of deactivating and reactivating users in your Smartsheet plan, including limitations and policies for reactivation.

Deactivate users

If a deactivated user is not reactivated within 30 consecutive days, reactivation is no longer available. You must remove the user from your plan and re-invite them to restore access.

  1. Sign in to Admin Center. 
  2. Select the Menu icon in the upper left corner and navigate to Users and Groups > User Roles and Reports.

    The User Management page displays.

  3. Hover over the row of the user account you want to manage. On the right side of the row, select  Group management kebab menu  to open the action menu.
  4. Select Deactivate User.

    A dialog box displays.

  5. Select Deactivate to confirm the action.

You're responsible for ensuring your users access and use of the Smartsheet services is within authorized limits. Unauthorized access to and use of the services is invoiceable pursuant to the Limits Policy. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by Smartsheet, the removal or deactivation of users or the cessation of use of the services will not affect Smartsheet’s right to invoice for unauthorized access and use.

Find deactivated users

  1. On the top right of the User Management page, change the filter setting from Show All Users to Deactivated.

    Brandfolder Image
    Find deactivated users in Admin Center
  2. Search for the deactivated user account.

Reactivate users

If the user was deactivated within the last 30 days, you can reactivate them using the steps below. If more than 30 days have passed, see Admin Center: Remove users to remove the user first, then re-invite them.

  1. Sign in to Admin Center.
  2. Select the Menu icon in the upper left corner and navigate to Users and Groups > User Roles and Reports.

    The User Management page displays.

  3. Hover over the row of the user account you want to manage. On the right side of the row, select  Group management kebab menu  to open the action menu.
  4. Select Reactivate User.

Users managed through Directory Integration

The 30-day reactivation policy applies exclusively to users managed in Admin Center. If you manage users through Directory Integration (DI) and are attempting to reactivate a user after the 30-day window, do the following:

  1. Temporarily deactivate DI in Smartsheet by toggling off the Directory Integration option in the Security & Controls page.
  2. Remove the user via Admin Center.
  3. Reactivate DI in Smartsheet
  4. Add the user to the relevant groups

This process allows you to re-provision them through DI.


Notes

  • You can't revoke access to Smartsheet or deactivate users through external integration.
  • Deactivating a user immediately revokes all API access tokens they've generated. The deactivated user can no longer use them.
  • If the 30-day reactivation window has passed, the API returns an error when you attempt to reactivate the user. Remove the user first, then re-add them to restore access.