Options for Canceling a Smartsheet Account

You can cancel your Smartsheet account at any time. Before you cancel your account, if you want to retain access to your sheets or the data they contain, you have two options:

  • Transfer the sheet ownership to a licensed user. Do this if you want to allow others to continue using the sheets in Smartsheet. For more information, see the help article Changing the Sheet Owner.
  • Export the sheet data. Do this if you want to make the data available for use in another program such as Microsoft Excel or Google Sheets. For more information, see Exporting Sheets & Reports from Smartsheet.

Cancel Your Smartsheet Account

To cancel an Enterprise plan, please contact your sales representative directly or contact our Sales team. For all other plans, use the steps here.

NOTE: If you are making payments to Smartsheet through invoice, you must contact our finance team to cancel your account. For security purposes, please include the invoice number from a previous invoice in your email.

There are two basic options for canceling a paid account:

  • Switch to Free Switching to free changes your account type from a paid Smartsheet subscription to a free collaborator account. This option allows you to stop your paid subscription and receive no further charges for it, but still retain access to Smartsheet and any sheets that are currently shared to you or that are shared to you in the future.

    When you choose this option, any sheets you own will become read-only and will be deleted after 90 days.
     
  • Delete the Account This option immediately deletes the sheets you own and completely closes your account, preventing you from logging back in.

    When you choose this option, your sheets are moved to Deleted Items immediately and are then permanently purged a short time later.

Who Can Cancel an Account

To cancel an account, you must be logged in with one of the following user types: 

  • For an Individual plan, you must be the licensed owner of the account.
  • For a Team or Business plan you must be a System Admin of the plan.

For more information about user types, please see the User Types article.

IMPORTANT:

  • Pro-rated refunds are not offered for canceled accounts.
  • If you cancel a plan type that is no longer available for purchase from Smartsheet—a Team or Advanced plan, for example—you will not be able to re-purchase that plan type at a later date.

Back to top  

Cancel and Switch to Free

Use this method to convert a paid subscription to a free collaborator account. With this account type, you’ll be able to retain access to sheets that are currently shared to you as well as have access to any sheets that are shared to you in the future.

NOTE: These same instructions can be used to cancel a 30-day trial and switch to a free collaborator account.

To cancel a paid account and switch to free:

  1. In the upper-right corner of the Smartsheet window, click Account > Account Admin > Plan & Billing Info.
  2. Click Cancel Account to display the Cancel Account form.
  3. Select Switch to Free.
  4. Choose either of the following options:

    Switch to Free at the end of my current subscription

    -or-

    Switch to Free Immediately
  5. Click Save to save the account change.

As soon as you click Save, the change will be applied. If you selected Switch to Free Immediately, your sheets will become read-only immediately.

If you selected Switch to Free at the end of my current subscription your sheets will become read-only when your current subscription expires. In both instances, your sheets will be kept available in this state for 90 days. After 90 days, your sheets will be deleted. (You can select Account > Account Admin > Plan & Billing Info > Renew Payment to start your subscription again.

Back to top 

Deactivate Your Account

This option deletes the sheets that you own and completely closes your account, preventing you from logging back in.

To deactivate a paid account:

  1. In the upper-right corner of  Account > Account Admin > Plan & Billing Info.
  2. Click Cancel Account to display the Cancel Account form.
  3. Select Deactivate Account and click OK to confirm the cancellation.

    When you choose this option, your sheets are moved to Deleted Items immediately and are permanently purged a short time later. 

Note that if you reset your login or re-subscribe before the sheets are purged, you’ll be able to recover sheets from Deleted Items. (For information about how to recover deleted items, see Deleting and Undeleting Sheets.)

Back to top

Was this article helpful?
YesNo