Advance capabilities evaluations

Explore the potential uses of advanced capabilities like Data Shuttle and Dynamic View to grow and scale your business processes.

Who can use this?

Plans:

  • Business
  • Enterprise

Advanced Capabilities Evaluations is a free, 30-day trial program by Smartsheet that lets users on Business, Enterprise, and Advanced Work Management plans test two premium add-on features before purchasing them:

  • Data Shuttle lets you import data into Smartsheet or export data from it via automated workflows.
  • Dynamic View lets you create filtered, permission-controlled views of your sheet data.

How the evaluation works:

  • It activates automatically when the first user on an eligible plan saves a Data Shuttle workflow or shares a Dynamic View.
  • It runs for 30 days, with no usage limit.
  • System Admins get notified and receive weekly digest emails throughout.
  • At the end, features are deactivated unless you upgrade.

Prerequisites

To start the Advanced Capabilities Evaluation:

  • You must be on an eligible Smartsheet plan 
  • Your plan shouldn't be participating in a sales-initiated Data Shuttle trial

Data Shuttle

You can launch Data Shuttle from the Connections menu on your sheet.

Datashuttle connections

You can also find Data Shuttle by navigating to File > Import.

Brandfolder Image
Import - Export Menu

​Get started with Data Shuttle

If you don’t have any Data Shuttle workflows yet, selecting Get Started in the Connections menu or a data source in the Import menu opens a modal that introduces you to Data Shuttle.

In Data Shuttle, you can create an upload workflow to import data or create an offload workflow to export data from Smartsheet. Additionally, you can manage Data Shuttle workflows to coordinate your data operations, modify existing processes, and track the overall value and performance of your workflows.

For System Admins

As a System Admin, you have four avenues to view your plan's evaluations.

  • Evaluation notifications: When the first user saves a workflow, that activates Data Shuttle in evaluation mode for your plan.
  • Weekly digests: In addition to the initial email, you receive a weekly digest summarizing ongoing evaluations and their benefits.
  • Workflow management: You can archive workflows created at any time. As a System Admin, you’re expected to archive any remaining workflows at the end of the evaluation period.
  • Plan Insights: View usage data, including the total number of workflows, rows processed, executions, active users, errors, and more. Here you can also see the start date of your evaluation and how many days remain until it ends. 
Brandfolder Image
Plan insights data with evaluation data

Other plan users who didn’t create a workflow aren’t notified of the evaluation, but they still have access to the entry points covered above. If they create a workflow during an ongoing evaluation, it becomes part of the plan’s evaluation and is represented in the System Admin's weekly email.


Dynamic View

You can create and manage views of your data throughout your evaluation period. There's no limit to the number of Dynamic Views you can create during the evaluation.

Users who didn’t create a workflow can also access Dynamic View. If these users create a Dynamic View while an assessment is in progress, the Dynamic View they create joins the plan’s evaluation without extending the assessment's duration.

Launch Dynamic View from a sheet

Access the Dynamic View menu at the top of your sheet in Grid, Gantt, Card, or Calendar views. Learn more about sheet views.

Dynamic View Get Started button

An alternative way to access the Dynamic View menu is by navigating to More tools > Dynamic View from Table view.

Brandfolder Image
Access Dynamic View from other sheet views

Launch Dynamic View from a WorkApp

In your WorkApp, navigate to + Add Pages > Dynamic View.

Brandfolder Image
Dynamic View from WorkApp

When you select Get started, a modal introduces you to Dynamic View.

If you, as a plan user, select Continue to Dynamic View in the modal, you initiate the Dynamic View creation process following a standard workflow.

Share the Dynamic View

Sharing this Dynamic View initiates the evaluation of your plan and notifies your System Admin.
When you share your Dynamic View with another user, a banner appears to notify you that you have started your evaluation period. This indicates that Dynamic View isn’t currently added to your plan but is available for purchase.

For System Admins

As a System Admin, you have four avenues to view your plan's evaluations.

  • Weekly digests: In addition to the initial email, you receive a weekly email summarizing the ongoing evaluations and their benefits. The email also provides workflow management options through the Dynamic View Admin Controls page. These emails continue until the evaluation concludes and all remaining Dynamic Views are deactivated.
  • Plan Insights: Download the Dynamic View Access Report and view usage data, including the total number of views created, rows updated, shared collaborators, views shared, active users, active views, and more. Here you can also see the start date of your evaluation and how many days remain until it ends.
Brandfolder Image
Plan insights data with evaluation data

Delete dynamic views

Either during or at the end of the evaluation period, a Sys-Admin can bulk delete any Dynamic Views on their plan by visiting the Dynamic View Admin page. Select Delete views to delete all Dynamic Views. 

Brandfolder Image
Delete dynamic views

After the evaluation

When the evaluation ends for either Data Shuttle or Dynamic View, consider upgrading your service through our sales process to keep the new features.

To continue using Data Shuttle or Dynamic View after your evaluation ends:

  • Contact Smartsheet Sales. Once you activate the evaluation, your organization's system administrator gets an email with the option to contact sales. 
  • Visit smartsheet.com/pricing to explore plan options and initiate a purchase.

If Smartsheet deactivates your items at the end of the evaluation (rather than you doing it yourself), they can be recovered only after purchase. To preserve your work, deactivate any workflows or Dynamic Views yourself before the evaluation ends.