Transfer all items for a single user to a new owner

Applies to

Smartsheet
  • Business
  • Enterprise

Capabilities

Who can use this capability

System Admins on Business and Enterprise accounts can bulk transfer sheets, reports, and dashboards between licensed users.

You can transfer all sheets, reports, and dashboards owned by a licensed user. 

To selectively transfer certain items, use the steps in the Selectively Transfer Items in Bulk section.

  1. Select your account image in the lower-left corner of the Smartsheet window and select Admin Center.
  2. Select Manage Users in the Total Users panel beneath Account Summary.
  3. Select More More icon in column header to the far right of the person whose items you want to transfer and select Transfer Owned Items.
    TIP: Select Download User Access Report to see all items owned by a user.
  4. Select the person you want to transfer items to and then select Transfer.

This process creates a new folder containing all the transferred items. The new owner can find the items in a folder labeled Transferred from [email address of previous owner].

After the transfer, the original owner retains Admin permissions on the items; the new owner receives Owner permissions. All other shared collaborators remain shared and retain their sharing permissions.

There may be a discrepancy between items identified for transfer and how many are actually transferred when the process is complete. If the Items are in a Workspace where multiple users have Admin Sharing Permissions, the items won’t be transferred. 

When you finish transferring the items, you may want to deactivate the previous owner’s account.