Sharing Permission Levels

This Help Article Appears in the Following Learning Tracks

When you share a sheet with someone, you can specify the sharing permission level with Viewer, Editor, or Admin level access to it. The permission level determines the features available to a collaborator for the item you're sharing (a sheet, report, or workspace for example). If you create an item, you are the Owner of that item.

If you are looking for information about sharing permission levels for sharing a dashboard, please see Sharing a Smartsheet Dashboard.

The sharing permission level on a sheet isn't related to your account user type. For example, it's possible to be a System Admin on a multi-user account with only Viewer-level sharing access to a particular sheet; or, you could be a free collaborator with Admin-level sharing access to a sheet.

To learn more about the difference between user types and permission levels, review our help article on User Types.

Some features listed here are available only to licensed customers. Not sure whether you have a license? See Identify Your Smartsheet Plan and User Type.


Sharing Permission Levels on Sheets

Sheet Management

Available Options Viewer Editor Admin Owner
View all sheet data, including comments Yes Yes Yes Yes
Edit unlocked rows and columns in a sheet No Yes Yes Yes
Edit cells in locked columns or rows No No Yes Yes
Insert rows No Yes Yes Yes

Insert, rename & delete columns, change column properties*

Learn more >

No No Yes Yes
Move columns within a sheet* No No Yes Yes

Hide or unhide columns*

Learn more >

No No Yes Yes
Move rows within a sheet No Yes Yes Yes
Move rows to another sheet

Learn more >
No Yes Yes Yes

Lock or unlock columns and rows*

Learn more >

No No Yes Yes
Delete unlocked rows No Yes Yes Yes

Edit conditional formatting rules*

Learn more >

No No Yes Yes
Enable or disable Highlight Changes in a sheet or report No Yes Yes Yes

Export a sheet or report

Learn more > 

Yes Yes Yes Yes
Sort unlocked rows and freeze columns without saving Yes Yes Yes Yes
Sort locked rows No No Yes Yes
Save changes after sorting rows or freezing columns No Yes Yes Yes
Add new attachments and comments in a sheet or report No Yes Yes Yes
Download attachments in a sheet or report Yes Yes Yes Yes
Filter data in sheets with the "Unnamed Filter" Yes Yes Yes Yes
Name filters to save them No Yes Yes Yes
Apply saved filters (not available in single-user plan types) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Create, edit, and delete shared filters (not available in single-user plan types)* No No Yes Yes

Use the Save as New command to save the sheet as a new sheet*

Learn more >

Yes Yes Yes Yes

Save a sheet as a template*

Learn more >

Yes Yes Yes Yes

Rename a sheet or report

Learn more >

No No No Yes

Delete a sheet or report/restore a deleted sheet or report

Learn more >

No No No Yes

NOTE: Any collaborator with Admin access to a workspace will also have the ability to delete and re-name the sheets it contains. If a sheet is deleted from a workspace, it's recoverable for 30 days from the Admin and sheet owner's Deleted Items folder.

*Available only to licensed users

Collaboration

Available Options Viewer Editor Admin Owner
Share a sheet or report No Yes Yes Yes
Change the sharing permissions of other collaborators (for example, from Editor to Admin) No No Yes Yes

Send a sheet or report via email to self or others

More info>

Yes Yes Yes Yes
Send rows via email to self or others* Yes Yes Yes Yes

Publish a sheet or report (business and enterprise accounts only)*

Learn more >

No No Yes Yes

Create and manage forms*

Learn more >

No No Yes Yes
Send and edit Update Requests* No Yes Yes Yes

*Available only to licensed users

Automation

Available Options Viewer Editor Admin Owner
Create and edit own row-level reminders Yes Yes Yes Yes
Create and edit sheet-level reminders for self or others* No No Yes Yes

Create and edit automated workflows (e.g., notifications, approval requests, and automated update requests)*

(Can disable or delete any automated workflows for themselves)

No No Yes Yes

*Available only to licensed users

Project Management

Available Options Viewer Editor Admin Owner

Enable dependencies on a project sheet*

Learn more >

No No Yes Yes
Edit dependency settings* No No Yes Yes

*Available only to licensed users

Reports

Available Options Viewer Editor Admin Owner
View all report data in all columns, including comments (if user is also shared to the underlying source sheets) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Refresh and run the report to update its content Yes Yes Yes Yes
Edit unlocked rows and columns (if user also has editing permission in the source sheets) No Yes Yes Yes
Freeze columns No Yes Yes Yes
Modify the Report Builder criteria* No No Yes Yes
Sort the report No No Yes Yes
Rearrange columns No No Yes Yes
Add and remove columns* No No Yes Yes

*Available only to licensed users

Reports in Workspaces

Anyone with Admin-permissions to a workspace will have the ability to delete and re-name the reports it contains. If a report is deleted from a workspace it's recoverable for 30 days from the Admin and sheet owner's Deleted Items folder.