When you share a workspace, you give the person you share with access to all the items the workspace contains.That person will be able to access the workspace under Browse (in the left panel) > Workspaces.
As your sharing needs change, it's easy to remove people from the workspace or change their sharing permission levels.
- The people you share with won't be able to access any of your other Smartsheet data (unless you choose to share it with them).
- If you want to share a sheet or other item that's contained in a workspace without having to share the entire workspace with them, that's possible. To do that, you would share an individual sheet in a workspace. This will give the person you share with access to the sheet only. For information about how to do this, see Sharing Sheets.
On the left Navigation Bar, click Browse.
In the left pane, under Workspaces, click the name of the workspace.
You'll be able to see who is shared to the workspace on the top right, under Workspace Shared To.
TIP: The Sharing column in the workspace gives you information about how the items within it are shared. If an item is shared individually (as well as being shared to people in the workspace), you'll see the plus icon and an icon of an individual next to the item as in the image below:
To start sharing the workspace, click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the workspace.
This will display the Workspace Sharing window.
From the Workspace Sharing window, follow these steps:
In the Invite Collaborators box, select or type in the email addresses of the people or groups you want to share the workspace with. (Separate multiple email addresses with a comma or semicolon.)
Select a Permissions level for all items in the workspace. (See the below section on Workspace Sharing Permissions for more information about what people with each permission level can do.)
TIP: Use the Invite Details to customize the sharing notification.
Click the Share Workspace button.
If you’re sharing a group to a workspace, an additional confirmation window will alert you to the sharing notifications that would get sent. Click Notify anyway in that window, or go back and uncheck the Notify people box if you choose to not send a sharing notification to everyone in the group.
This will add the people you selected in step 1 to the workspace and send out the sharing email if you opted to send one.
To remove a collaborator or change their permission level, click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the workspace, and open the Collaborators section of the Workspace Sharing form.
Mouse-over the collaborator you'd like to remove or change:
Remove from Workspace Sharing: Click the x to the right of the permission level. The collaborator will be removed from the workspace and will no longer be able to open any of its items.
NOTE: If you stop sharing with a collaborator at the time that they are viewing a sheet in the workspace, the collaborator will receive an error message at the next save or refresh.
Change Permissions: Select a new permission level from the drop-down list. You can't give another collaborator a higher access level than you have yourself (for example, an Editor can't promote another Editor to Admin).
The permission level you give a person to the workspace (individually or through a contact group) gives them access to the workspace and all items it contains with that level of permissions. For example, if you grant someone Editor-level sharing permissions to a sheet and then give them Admin-level permissions to the workspace that contains the sheet, that person will be granted admin-level sharing permissions to the sheet. For this reason, it's a best practice to share using the lowest level permissions needed.
Note that you can't give another collaborator a higher access level than you have yourself (for example, an Editor can't promote another Editor to Admin).
|Task||Viewer||Commenter||Editor - cannot share||Editor - can share||Admin||Owner|
|View all contents of the items in the workspace||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|Edit sheets and add documents and comments to sheets in the workspace||No||Yes (Comments only)||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|Share the workspace or its contents with others||No||No||No||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|Modify the column layout in sheets||No||No||No||No||Yes||Yes|
|Add, edit, rename, or delete sheets in the workspace||No||No||No||No||Yes||Yes|
|Move items to the workspace||No||No||No||No||Yes||Yes|
|Delete items from the workspace||No||No||No||No||Yes||Yes|
|Delete the workspace||No||No||No||No||No||Yes|
IMPORTANT: An Admin can make themselves the workspace owner by removing the current workspace owner. This is the only way to change ownership of a workspace. For more detailed information, see Transfer Ownership of a Workspace.
For details on permission levels and how they impact Smartsheet items (sheets, dashboards, and so on), see the Sharing Permission Levels article.
TIP: You can make workspace sharing easier to manage with Smartsheet Contact Groups (see Manage and Use Smartsheet Contact Groups). Note that if you share a workspace with a Smartsheet Contact group, all group members will inherit the selected permission level.