Share a Dashboard

Applies to

Smartsheet

Share a curated set of data or a collection of resources in a highly visual way with a dashboard.

Share a Dashboard

There are three ways that you can give others online access to your dashboard:

  • Drag the dashboard into a workspace from Browse.
  • Share it directly with the Share button at the top of the dashboard
  • Publish it with the Publish option in the File menu. (You must have Owner or Admin permissions to share or publish a dashboard.)

You can also print your dashboard by choosing Print from the File menu in the upper-left corner of your screen. Details on this process can be found in the Printing from Smartsheet article in the Help Center.

Store a Dashboard in a Workspace

You can share a dashboard with a collection of people by storing it in a workspace. All of the people who have permissions to view or edit content in the workspace will automatically have permissions to view the dashboard.

People who have Admin-level permissions in the workspace will be able to view, edit, and share the dashboard.

Dashboards in a Workspace have additional Permissions options. Only people with Admin-level permissions can edit Dashboards. People shared to a dashboard with Editor-level permissions through a workspace will not be able to make changes.

  • Editor - can share
  • Editor - cannot share

For more information about using a workspace for sharing, see Workspace Sharing and Moving Existing Items into a Workspace.

Publish a Dashboard

To publish a dashboard, click the Publish button (globe icon) in the upper-right corner of the dashboard.

A published dashboard will automatically refresh once every 10 minutes. This behavior cannot be customized or disabled.

For more information about publishing a dashboard, see Publishing Smartsheet Items.

Share a Dashboard Directly via the Sharing Button

To give access to specific individuals and to specify sharing permissions, you can use the Sharing form. Here's how to do that:

  1. From an open dashboard, click the Share button at the top of the dashboard.
    The Dashboard Sharing form appears. 
  2. Under Invite Collaborators, type or select the email addresses of the people or groups you want to share the dashboard with. (Separate multiple email addresses with a comma or semicolon.)
  3. In the Permissions box, select Admin or Viewer (learn more about these permission types in the permission level section of this article).
  4. Under Invite Details, choose whether to send a notification email, to modify the subject line, or to create a personal message to clarify with collaborators about why you're sharing the dashboard with them.
  5. Click Share dashboard.

To change a collaborator's permission level or to stop sharing the dashboard with a collaborator:

  1. Open the Collaborators section of the Dashboard Sharing form.
  2. Hover over the name of the person or group and choose one of the following:
    • To change permission level, select a new permission level from the dropdown list.
    • To remove the collaborator from the list, click the Remove From Sharing button (the X to the right of Permission Level).