Applies to

Smartsheet
  • Business
  • Enterprise

Capabilities

Who can use this capability

  • System Admin 

Manage global account settings

If you’re a System Admin on a Business or Enterprise plan, you can use the Account Administration window to control certain features for all Smartsheet users in your plan.

PLANS

  • Business
  • Enterprise

Permissions

  • System Admin 

Access account settings

  1. Select Account (in the lower-left corner of the Smartsheet window) > Admin Center.
  2. Under Settings, select the item you want to update.

Options vary depending on the type of account you have. Some features aren’t available accounts in a Pro plan. Not sure which plan you have? Learn how to identify your Smartsheet plan and user type.


Settings on all Business and Enterprise plans

Account Discovery

Choose whether non-licensed Smartsheet users at your organization—free collaborators or people using a trial—have visibility into which Smartsheet accounts from your organization are available to them. With this option enabled, people at your organization can contact you to request a license directly. For more information, see Join an existing Smartsheet plan at your organization.

This information is only applicable to the Legacy Collaborator Model. Not sure which model your plan uses? Ask a System Admin if there’s a Manage true-up page in Admin Center. If there is, your plan uses the User Subscription Model. See the User Subscription Model overview article for more information.

Automation permissions

Control who can receive automation from sheets based on their sheet access and relationship with your organization. In Admin Center, you have three options:

  • Only shared users

  • Only shared users and people in your account

  • Anyone (any email address and third-party integrations, such as Slack or Microsoft Teams)

     

Keep the following behavior in mind:

  • All sheets are created with restricted permissions (Only shared users), so if desired, sheet Owners and Admins must manually make automation less restrictive at the sheet level.

  • Users with Owner or Admin permissions on a sheet can only select sheet-level automation permissions that are equally or more restrictive than the account-level automation permissions.

  • If any sheets are unrestricted (Anyone) or limited (Only shared users and people in your account), and you set the account to be more restrictive, then those sheets will automatically adopt the more restrictive setting. However, if you then set the account to be less restrictive, then the sheets will return to their prior state unless they were manually set to be more restricted than the account settings.

  • If a sheet is manually set to Only shared users or Only shared users and people in your account permissions, and you adjust the account-level automation permissions to be less restrictive, the sheets will remain unchanged.

 See Control who can receive notifications from your sheet for more information.

Color settings and logo branding

You can apply Strict Account Branding for everyone in your plan. After setting custom colors and logo branding for your organization, you can control whether or not others in the account can override them with their own color settings.

Notes
  • You must be a paid Smartsheet user to change color settings and logos.
  • Changes to the Account Color Settings & Logo window will be applied to any sheet, report, and dashboard that isn't in a workspace. Previously created workspaces and items within them won't be changed. New workspaces created going forward will inherit the new color settings and logo.

 

Resource Management

Deactivate this option to remove the Resource Management options from the Project Settings of all sheets owned by users on your plan. Note that it will also remove the Resource Views option from Home. For more information about this feature, see Legacy Resource Management and allocation

 

Profile Visibility

Personal profile cards appear when you hover over a person’s name or email address in the following locations: Contact List columns, the Sharing form, in comments, in Card View, and in your Smartsheet Contacts. Select Edit to control the level of profile detail (show photo, show detail) shown to people inside and outside your organization. Learn more about managing your personal profile.

 

Publish Options

When you deactivate an option using the toggle and disable the publishing feature in the Security & Controls page, the Publish button no longer appears in the right panel for sheets or reports.

  • Enable Sheet Publishing: Any published sheets will become unpublished immediately when you deactivate this option. You can also control whether sheets can be viewed by anyone or only by users in your account. For more information about the feature, see Publish a sheet, report, or dashboard.
  • Enable Report Publishing: When you deactivate this option, any published reports will become unpublished immediately. You can also control whether reports can be viewed by anyone or only by users in your account. For more information, see Publish a sheet, report, or dashboard.
  • Enable Dashboard Publishing: When you deactivate this option, any dashboards already published will become unpublished immediately. You can also control whether dashboards can be viewed by anyone or only by users in your own account. For more information about the feature, see Publish a sheet, report, or dashboard.
  • Enable iCal Publishing: When you deactivate this option, you'll remove the ability to publish a sheet's calendar view to iCal format. Calendars already published will become unpublished immediately. For more information about this feature, see Publish a Smartsheet Calendar to iCal format. 
  • Enable Calendar App Publishing: When you deactivate this option, you'll remove the ability to publish any assets from Calendar App. Calendars already published will become unpublished immediately.

 

Working Days

Select Edit next to this heading to configure the length of working days and designate non-working days and holidays for scheduling your projects. Your selection applies to all new sheets users create on the plan. Also, your changes don’t affect existing project sheets. Learn more about defining working days, non-working days, and holidays on a project sheet.


Features that can be changed globally for Enterprise plans only

Custom Help Screen

Add a link to the menu when your users select Help in the lower-left corner of Smartsheet. You might use the help screen to instruct users about which sheets are relevant to which members of your plan, how to participate in a workflow, or who to contact for assistance.

For more information, see Create a custom welcome message, help page, or upgrade screen

Custom Upgrade Screen

Display a customized page to unlicensed users on your Smartsheet plan who need to request a license. Use the upgrade screen to display an internal page providing more information on how the user should proceed with their request or a form that collects more information about the user's Smartsheet needs to help you determine whether to provide them a license.

For more information, see Create a custom welcome message, help page, or upgrade screen. 

This information is only applicable to the Legacy Collaborator Model. Not sure which model your plan uses? Ask a System Admin if there’s a Manage true-up page in Admin Center. If there is, your plan uses the User Subscription Model. See the User Subscription Model overview article for more information.

Custom Welcome Screen

Display a customized page to users on your Smartsheet plan the next time they log in. Use the welcome screen to display internal terms and conditions to your users. For example, you can require them to accept terms of use before continuing, or provide instructions to help your users navigate through Smartsheet.

For more information, see Create a custom welcome message, help page, or upgrade screen.

 

Attachments

Select Edit to control whether plan members can upload files from their computers by attaching a link (URL) to a site or third-party cloud storage services, including: 

  • Google Drive
  • OneDrive
  • Box
  • Dropbox
  • Evernote
  • Egnyte

Learn more about uploading attachment files to a sheet or reports.

Images in grid

Deactivate this option to remove the ability to add images to cells in sheets managed by users on your Enterprise plan. Existing images that were previously added to cells won't be removed. Learn more about adding images to your sheet

Was this article helpful?
YesNo