Manage Items in a Workspace

Once a workspace is created, its owner or anyone with Admin-level sharing permissions to it can create new items in the workspace, move items in or out of it, or delete items from it.

If you're looking for information about how to create a workspace, see Create a Workspace.

In this article:

Required Permissions and Account Types

You must be the workspace Owner or have Admin-level sharing permissions to it to perform these actions in a workspace.

To see what type of sharing permissions you have in a workspace, visit the workspace and look at the list of people shared to in the right panel (under Workspace Shared To). The list of shared collaborators and their access levels will appear on the right.
Workspace Shared To section of a workspace

NOTE: In order to create new items in a workspace or move items out of a workspace, you must be a licensed user. Not sure whether you have a license? See Identify Your Smartsheet Plan and User Type.


Create a New Item in a Workspace

You must have appropriate sharing permissions to the workspace to perform this action. All items that you create will be saved to the workspace and made available to all collaborators who are shared to the workspace. The collaborators will have the exact same view of the workspace that you have, including the folder structure and sheets it contains.

  1. Click the Menu icon (upper-left corner of the Smartsheet window) > Home. From Home click on the workspace name in the left panel.

    The name of the workspace will appear at the top of the window.
    Workspace in left panel
  2. Click Create and select the item (such as Grid, Task List, or Folder) that you want to create in the workspace.
    Create button and menu

 


Move an Existing Item into a Workspace

You can move any item that you own into a workspace. You must have appropriate sharing permissions to the workspace to perform this action.

  1. Click the Menu icon (upper-left corner of the Smartsheet window) > Home.
  2. In the left pane, navigate to the item that you want to move.
  3. Select the name of the item and drag it to the desired workspace.
    Drag and item to move it to a workspace

Moving an item into a workspace will automatically share it with everyone who can access that workspace, as well as maintain sheet-level sharing permissions. Details on sheet-level sharing permissions can be found in our Sharing Permission Levels article.


Move an Existing Item Out of a Workspace

You must have appropriate sharing permissions to the workspace to perform this action.

  1. Click the Menu icon (upper-left corner of the Smartsheet window) > Home.
  2. In the left pane, click Workspaces and then click the name of the workspace that contains the item that you want to move.
    The items in the workspace (for example, the sheets, reports, and dashboards) will be displayed in the middle of the screen.
  3. Click-and-drag the item into your Sheets directory in the left pane or to a workspace that you have permissions to add things to. (Note that if you move a folder, all of its contents will be moved.)

Taking this action will also remove sharing from all workspace members, but will retain sheet-level sharing permissions. 

IMPORTANT: When you move an item or a folder out of a workspace, you will become the new owner of the items that you move. Because sheet ownership requires a user license, only licensed users can move items out of a workspace.


Delete an Item from a Workspace

You must have appropriate sharing permissions to the workspace to perform this action. 

  1. Click the Menu icon (upper-left corner of the Smartsheet window) > Home.
  2. In the left pane, click Workspaces and then click the name of the workspace that contains the item that you want to delete.
    The items in the workspace (for example, the sheets, reports, and dashboards) will be displayed in the middle of the screen.
  3. To delete the item, right-click on its name and select Delete.

    NOTE: Deleting a folder will also delete the sheets, reports, templates and subfolders it contains.

Deleted sheets, reports, and templates are moved into the Deleted Items section of the owner's Home tab: items in Deleted Items can be recovered for up to 30 days. More on recovering deleted items can be found in the Help Center article on Deleting and Undeleting Items.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo