Who can use this capability
The item owner and collaborators with Admin access to the item can remove others or change permission levels. Editors also have this ability if they were given permission to share the item when they were invited.
Remove a collaborator or change permission levels
- In the top right corner of the item, click Share.
- If you don't see the Share button, click the down arrow icon in the upper-right of the Smartsheet window.
- In the Sharing form, mouse-over the name of the person you'd like to remove or change to highlight the row and do either of the following:
- Change Permissions: Select a new permission level from the drop-down list. Note that you can't give another collaborator a higher access level than you have yourself (that is, someone with Editor-level permissions can't promote another person with Editor-level permissions and give them Admin-level access).
- Remove from Sharing: Click the X at the right end of the permission level row.
The person will no longer have access to the item. If you stop sharing with someone at the time that they are viewing the item, they will receive an error message at the next save or refresh.
In the Collaborators section, notice the Shared via Workspace icon or the Shared to...only icon next to the permission levels. These will help you distinguish how the item has been shared with the various collaborators.
If you see the Shared via workspace icon next to the permission level for a collaborator, that means that the collaborator has access to the item via a workspace. Clicking X will remove the collaborator's permissions from the workspace. Learn more about workspace sharing.