System Admins can use the Admin Center to transfer Owner permissions of sheets, reports, dashboards, and workspaces from one user to another.
USM Content
What are the use cases for transferring Owner permissions?
There are a few scenarios in which a System Admin may need to transfer Owner permissions on behalf of another user. These include:
- Someone in your team has a new job and isn't managing the same projects anymore.
Someone has left your organization entirely, so you remove that user from the plan. Now, you need to assign Owner permissions for their Smartsheet items.
If you're not sure which items belong to a removed user or if an item has no active Admin or Owner, use the Manage Abandoned Items page in Admin Center to get a complete list before transferring Owner permissions
- Someone in your plan stops using Smartsheet.
What if there's no current Owner?
If the item has no current Owner because the original Owner was removed from the plan before Owner permissions were transferred, for example, you can't use the transfer-all workflow described in this article. Instead, use the share-to-self pathway to claim ownership directly. For steps, see Item ownership overview.
What behaviors should I watch for?
- This operation transfers all the user's items. It's not possible to select individual items to transfer.
- When you transfer Owner permissions to someone else, you keep the hierarchy of those items in place. Even when the Owner permissions for the underlying sheets or reports change, your dashboard widgets continue to work.
- The user receiving the transfer must be an active Member with a paid seat. Free users (Contributors and Guests) and users with Provisional Member status don't appear as transfer targets.
- Transfers involving tens of thousands of items may time out. If this happens, ask the item Owner to transfer their largest workspaces individually first, then retry the bulk transfer.
Workspace permissions
If you transfer Owner permissions of items within a workspace, the outcome depends on the new Owner's current access level:
- If the target user already has Admin or Owner-level access to the workspace, the items stay in the workspace, and the target user becomes their owner.
- If the target user doesn't have Admin or Owner-level access to the workspace, the items remain in the workspace, the target user becomes Admin of the transferred items, and the current workspace Owner becomes the Owner of those items.
Transfer owner permissions
If your plan is on the legacy model, you must complete this process from the User Roles and Reports page instead. If you’re unsure about your model type, learn how to determine the model your plan is on.
- Sign in to Admin Center.
- Select the Menu
icon in the top left.
Navigate to Users and Groups > Seat Types and True-Up.
The Seat types and true-up page displays.
In the user's row, select the kebab
icon, then select Edit user.
Brandfolder Image
The Edit user panel opens.
Select More actions > Transfer owner permissions.
Brandfolder Image
- Enter the email address of the new owner.
- Select Transfer to confirm.
If the transfer fails, an error message displays. For assistance, reach out to the Support team through the Smartsheet Support Portal.