Options for canceling a Smartsheet account

Applies to

Smartsheet
  • Pro
  • Business
  • Enterprise

Capabilities

Who can use this capability

To cancel an Enterprise plan, please contact your sales representative directly or contact the Smartsheet Account and Billing team.

To cancel a Pro or Business plan, you must be logged in with one of the following user types:

  • For a Pro plan, you must be the licensed owner of the account
  • For a Business plan (or Legacy Team plan) you must be a System Admin of the plan

How you cancel an account will depend on your plan type and how you pay for that account:

  • For Enterprise plan users: Contact your sales representative, or contact the Account and Billing team.
  • For Pro or Business plan users: Review the cancelation options in this article.

Pro-rated refunds are not offered for canceled accounts. Please refer to the Smartsheet User Agreement for more details about cancelation terms.

If you cancel a plan type that is no longer available for purchase from Smartsheet—a Team or Advanced plan, for example—you will not be able to re-purchase that plan type at a later date.

Before you cancel: Save your data

If you want to retain access to your sheets or the data those sheets contain, you have two options:

Summary of cancelation options

You have two options for canceling a paid account: Cancel Account and Delete Account. Here’s what will happen when you choose either of these options:

  • Cancel Account
    • Your Smartsheet items will become read-only files and will be deleted after 30 days.
    • You’ll still have access to Smartsheet files that have been shared with you.
    • You’ll be unable to create new Smartsheet files.
  • Delete Account
    • Your account will be deactivated immediately.
    • Your Smartsheet files will be deleted.
    • All users in your account will lose their licenses immediately, and their Smartsheet files will be deleted too.

 

Cancel when paying with an invoice

Cancelation requests must be made by a System Administrator.

If you purchased your invoice plan through the Smartsheet app cancel directly through the application. But if your plan was purchased through Smartsheet’s Sales team, and you’re making payments to Smartsheet through an invoice: 

  1. Select the Invoice Account: Request to Cancel Plan button.

Invoice Account: Request to Cancel Plan

 

      2.  Fill out the form. 

  • In the Please select the type of downgrade list, choose any of these options:
    • Downgrade to a different plan type
    • Remove licenses
    • Discontinue an add-on or other product
    • Cancel subscription

If you have other billing concerns, visit the Customer Support Center.

 

Cancel and switch to free

You can cancel your paid subscription only at the end of your plan term. When you switch to a free account, you’ll still have access to sheets that are currently shared with you and any sheets that are shared with you in the future.

These same instructions can be used to cancel a 30-day trial and switch to a free collaborator account.

To cancel a paid account and switch to a free account

  1. On the left Navigation Bar, select Account > Plan & Billing Info.
  2. In the Plan & Billing Info tab, select Cancel Account.
  3. In the dialog that appears, choose Cancel Account.
  4. In the Cancel Account dialog, choose either of these options:
    • Cancel account at the end of my current subscription: Your sheets will become read-only for 30 days when your current subscription expires. After 30 days, the system will delete those files. 
    • Cancel your account immediately: Your sheets will become read-only immediately. 
  5. To save the account change, select Save
  6. In the dialog that appears, fill out the survey. 
  7. Select OK.

To cancel your Legacy Plan

  1. Sign in to your paid account through https://app.smartsheet.com/b/home.
    In case you’ve forgotten your password, you can reset it at https://app.smartsheet.com/b/pwd.
  2. On the left Navigation Bar, select Account > Account Admin > Plan & Billing Info.
  3. In the Plan & Billing Info tab, select Cancel Account.
  4. Choose either of these options:
    • Cancel Account: To cancel your account on the next renewal date 
    • Delete Account: To close your account immediately
  5. Confirm the changes you’ve made. 

To cancel your Business Plan or Pro Plan

  1. Sign in to your account through https://app.smartsheet.com/b/home.
    In case you’ve forgotten your password, you can reset it at https://app.smartsheet.com/b/pwd.
  2. On the left Navigation Bar, select Account > Plan & Billing Info.
  3. In the Plan & Billing Info tab, select Cancel Account.
  4. In the dialog that appears, select either of these options:
    • Cancel My Account:  work becomes read-only and deleted 30 days after.
    • Delete my account: The account and sheets are deleted immediately.
  5. Then confirm the final action you’d like to take: 
    • Cancel at the end of the subscription.
    • Cancel account immediately

Once you’ve confirmed the cancelation, a confirmation page will appear, indicating you’ve successfully canceled your plan. It will also specify the date when your plan is going to be canceled. 

The system will completely close your account on that date. If you wish to cancel immediately, follow the steps on how to delete your account. 

To delete your account

Before you begin

Once you decide to delete your account, the system will permanently remove all your sheets and close your account. You'll lose access to both your Smartsheet files and Smartsheet account. Make sure to export your data before you delete your account.

  1. On the left Navigation Bar, select AccountPlan & Billing Info.
  2. In the Plan & Billing Info tab, select Cancel Account.
  3. In the dialog that appears, choose Delete Account.
  4. In the dialog that appears, fill out the survey. 
  5. Select OK.

To start your subscription again 

  1. On the left Navigation Bar, select AccountPlan & Billing Info
  2. In the Plan & Billing Info tab, select Renew Payment.

Deactivate your account

Before you begin

If you have a Business Plan or Pro Plan, you won’t have the option to deactivate your account. This option will be available to you only when you set your account for cancelation during the renewal process. 

  1. On the left Navigation Bar, select Account > Plan & Billing Info.
  2. To open the Cancel Account dialog, select Cancel Account
  3. To confirm the cancelation, select Deactivate Account and then press OK.

If you reset your login or re-subscribe before the sheets are removed, you’ll be able to recover sheets from Deleted Items. Read the Delete a Sheet help article to learn how to recover deleted items.