Manage your workflows

Applies to

Smartsheet
  • Pro
  • Business
  • Enterprise

As your work processes develop, you may need to tweak, copy, disable, delete, unsubscribe from, or subscribe to an automated workflow.

You can do any of these on the workflow builder.

Edit your workflow

Use the Edit option to modify the following workflow elements:

  • Workflow name
  • Trigger block
  • Condition block
  • Action block: This includes the following automation message fields:
    • Subject
    • Message
    • Attachments (for example: links to sheet and fields)
  1. In the menu bar, select Automation > Manage Workflows.
  2. Hover over the workflow you want to modify and then select Edit.  

Manage your workflows

Manage your workflow from the More menu: 

  • Activate or Deactivate
  • Edit
  • Duplicate
  • Subscribe or Unsubscribe
  • Delete
  • Properties

Deactivate or activate your workflow

If your workflow is active, you can deactivate it to temporarily turn it off. This is useful if you’re making changes or setting up the sheet and you don’t want your workflow to run yet.

To reactivate your workflow, select Activate in the workflow menu. 

Unsubscribe from or subscribe to a workflow

If you want to stop receiving all automated actions for the workflow, unsubscribe from a workflow. 

When you receive alerts or requests, you can unsubscribe directly by selecting the Unsubscribe link next to the “Don't want to receive this alert?” text at the bottom of the message.

Need to receive alerts or automated actions again? Access the workflow menu, and select Subscribe

Duplicate your workflow

If you want to create a copy of the workflow, select the Duplicate option in the workflow menu.

Already duplicated a workflow? Edit any approval requests to either store them in a new field or use new values when your requests get approved or declined. Otherwise, approvals in your original workflow may cause approval requests in the duplicated workflow to run.

If anyone has unsubscribed from a workflow, duplicate the workflow to ensure they receive the automation. They’ll automatically be subscribed to the new copy of the workflow.

Delete your workflow

Permanently remove the workflow you created.

You can’t undo this action. 

Check your workflow properties

To check the following details, open the Workflow Properties dialog:

  • Workflow ID: 16-digit value assigned to your workflow, which you can use for interactions with Smartsheet Support
  • Created by: User who created the workflow
  • People who unsubscribed from the workflow: Total number and list of users who unsubscribed from the workflow