Edit, Clone, or Completely Delete a Workflow

As your work processes develop, there may come a time when you need to tweak, copy, disable, or completely delete an automated workflow. These actions are all handled from the Automation manager (Automation > Manage Workflows).

In your sheet:

  1. Select Automation > Manage Workflows at the top of the sheet.

    Manage Workflows

    The Automation manager appears.
     
  2. Select the down-arrow in the upper-right corner or right-click anywhere on the workflow that you want to change or disable.

    workflow down arrow
Use this command To do this
Disable Temporarily turn off the workflow. Use this command if you may want to use the workflow in the future. This is useful if you’re making several changes or setting up the sheet, and you don’t want your workflow to run yet.
Edit Rename or change the configuration of the workflow.

NOTE: Edit also allows you to make changes to automation custom message contents including subject, body, and fields included.
Clone Create a copy of the workflow.

TIP: When you clone a workflow, it is recommended to modify any approval requests such that they’re either stored in a new field or use new values when approved or declined. If these changes are not made, then approvals in your original workflow may cause Approval Requests in the cloned workflow to execute.

NOTE: If anyone has unsubscribed from a workflow, you can clone the workflow to ensure that they receive the automation. They will automatically be subscribed to the new copy of the workflow.
Unsubscribe/Subscribe Stop receiving all automated actions for the workflow. If you’ve already unsubscribed from a workflow, you can subscribe to start being notified.

NOTE: When you receive alerts or requests, you can unsubscribe directly by selecting the Unsubscribe link next to the “Don't want to receive this alert?” text at the bottom of the message.
Delete Completely delete the workflow. (This cannot be undone).